top of page

Living Right Now

Updated: Nov 30, 2020


We as Christians have such a special gift. We are such a special people to have and know God’s word.

Jeremiah 7:8 “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, And whose hope is the Lord.”

But in order to get these great blessings there is a lot we have to give up.

1 Peter 2:9 “But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that

you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light;”

As Christians, we should be different from the rest of the world because we are God’s special people. Because we know what the bible says, we can know what it is that God does and doesn’t want us to do.

So why do you think it is that Christians sometimes sin even though we know it is completely wrong? The root of this is our own selfish desire. When we are sinning we are not thinking about our future state, we are only thinking about what we want.

We think… I’ll watch this movie with lots of language because it will entertain me right now. I’ll go to this party so I can have a good time right now. I’ll wear these inappropriate clothes because it will get me the attention I want right now.

Do you notice a pattern? When we sin, all we think about is getting what we want right in that moment. We don’t think about how “right now” could affect the rest of our life and even our salvation.

Galatians 6:8 “For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit

will of the Spirit reap everlasting life.”

Only thinking about right now can lead to some sinful decisions but it’s not always a bad thing to think about right now.

When you are thinking about sinning to make yourself happy right now, ask yourself these questions first.

  • What if Jesus came back right now?

  • What if I died right now?

  • Is the sin that I am doing right now really worth my salvation?

  • What can I do to help someone struggling right now?

  • What can I do to please God right now?

Galatians 1:10 ”For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I

would not be a bondservant of Christ.”

When we think of all Jesus did for us, it makes our own selfish desires seem silly and unimportant.

1 Peter 2:21 “For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us,] leaving us an example, that

you should follow His steps.”

Jesus thought about the here and now. He thought about what he did “right now” and how it was going to affect the rest of the world forever. Jesus never let his own selfishness get in the way of doing what’s right. He is our ultimate example of how to live.

So instead of all of these selfish “right nows” try living a life of… What can I do to bring me closer to God right now?

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page