top of page

The Anxious Christian


Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”-Philippians 4:6-7

These verses can be uplifting... or frustrating. For those of us who have been diagnosed with an anxiety disorder, well-meaning loved ones have likely quoted this verse to us in moments of struggle. But when you have an anxiety disorder you often can’t find a way to that peace that you so badly desire.

In the US, 18% of adults and 8% of children and teens experience an anxiety disorder, according to the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). There are many of us who struggle daily with anxiety disorders but you wouldn’t know it, because there is still a stigma surrounding being open about mental illness. I decided a couple of years ago that I was going to start opening up about my struggles and have been surprised by the number of fellow Christians and friends who have confided that they too deal with these struggles. I have a nice concoction of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), depression, and general anxiety disorder (GAD) with a little panic disorder thrown in for good measure. Here’s what the National Institute of Mental Health says about GAD and panic disorder.

People with generalized anxiety disorder display excessive anxiety or worry for months and face several anxiety-related symptoms.

Generalized anxiety disorder symptoms include:

• Restlessness or feeling wound-up or on edge • Being easily fatigued • Difficulty concentrating or having their minds go blank • Irritability • Muscle tension • Difficulty controlling the worry • Sleep problems (difficulty falling or staying asleep or restless, unsatisfying sleep)

People with panic disorder have recurrent unexpected panic attacks, which are sudden periods of intense fear that may include palpitations, pounding heart, or accelerated heart rate; sweating; trembling or shaking; sensations of shortness of breath, smothering, or choking; and feeling of impending doom.

Panic disorder symptoms include:

• Sudden and repeated attacks of intense fear • Feelings of being out of control during a panic attack • Intense worries about when the next attack will happen • Fear or avoidance of places where panic attacks have occurred in the past

Nice, huh? Treatment for anxiety disorders consists of psychotherapy, medication, or both. This is a medical issue. Many times it’s a chemical issue. To fix that you usually need medication. You should NEVER feel shame or guilt for needing medication. Someone with Type 1 Diabetes isn’t shamed for taking insulin. It’s the same situation. Your body doesn’t create the correct amount of certain chemicals. Having a mental illness doesn’t mean your faith isn’t strong enough. It means part of your body, your brain, isn’t working correctly. There is also no shame in seeing a therapist. Having that person outside the situation who is educated in how the mind works.

There are also many non-medical ways you can help your anxiety whether it’s an anxiety disorder or normal worry you’re having trouble letting go of. You have to take time for yourself. Bible study, prayer, meditation, and affirmations can make a world of difference. Read through Psalms. There are so many uplifting, powerful Psalms praising God and His help in times of struggle. Psalm 3:3 is one of my favorites: But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. When I’m struggling I often say this verse over and over in my head as an affirmation. I love the song that uses this verse. I’ll sing it out loud or in my head, depending on the situation, until I feel centered. God is a shield around us. He covers all sides, protecting us from whatever may come at us. When I am low and my head is bowed down in sorrow, He is there to gently put His hand under my chin and lift up my head. He gives me the courage and confidence that I can press forward and overcome whatever anxiety is consuming my mind. Journaling is another thing that can be very helpful. Write out your feelings and thoughts. Work through them. Sometimes I find it helpful to write out my prayers. Get it all out and then give it to God. Romans 12:12 tells us, “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” God hears your prayers and cares about what is hurting you! 1 John 5:14, “And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.” 1 Peter 3:12, “For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer. 1 Peter 5:6-7, “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you When you don’t know what to pray you can pray the Psalms. Psalm 62:1-8 is a great one. For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken. How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence? They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse. Selah For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah

Psalm 91 is also a great one.

Whether you’ve been diagnosed with an anxiety disorder or are consumed by the cares of the world, you must remember not to let yourself stay there. Fight. Dig yourself out. Take proactive steps to ease your cares and anxieties. Remember that God loves you and wants you to have that “peace that passes all understanding.” He’s got you. No matter what comes your way, if you are faithful to the end you will have eternal peace with Him in heaven.

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page